Rugby – Nine Italian Internationals bolster Zebre line-up

Screen shot 2016-03-24 at 12.05.07.png

Zebre Rugby ended the training week focusing on the next Guinness PRO12 challenge of Limerick when the Italian franchise face Munster tomorrow night. The 18th round of the Guinness PRO12 will be the last of the four seasonal Irish travel for Zebre. Zebre welcome back the 15 internationals who were with Italy in the RBS 6 Nations 2016.

Compared to the last official game three weeks ago, the technical staff can retrieve 9 italian internationals players to take part in the match against the Red Army. This second leg of the encounter comes two weeks after the clash between the two respective national side played in Dublin. In addition, four players recovered from their respective injuries and will be on the team list: forwards Cook and Postiglioni and backs Boni and Pratichetti.

In addition to the long list of 14 injured, three players remained in Parma after the high playing time of the last phase of the season: the two internationals Lovotti and Garcia and lock Bortolami, captain of the XV of the North-West in the last seven competitive matches between EPCR Challenge Cup and Guinness PRO12.

The two sides have met in January with the contest in the balance up to 80 minutes with the Irish winning 16-12 in Parma thanks to a late Keatley kick at Stadio Lanfranchi.

Zebre line-up :

15 Kayle Van Zyl

14 Leonardo Sarto*

13 Giulio Bisegni

12 Tommaso Boni*

11 Giulio Toniolatti

10 Kelly Haimona

9 Guglielmo Palazzani

8 Johan Meyer

7 Federico Ruzza*

6 Jean Cook

5 Valerio Bernabò

4 Quintin Geldenhuys (cap)

3 Dario Chistolini

2 Oliviero Fabiani

1 Guillermo Roan

Replacements :

16 Bruno Postiglioni

17 Andrea De Marchi

18 Pietro Ceccarelli

19 Gideon Koegelenberg

20 Emiliano Caffini*

21 Luke Burgess

22 Ulrich Beyers

23 Matteo Pratichetti

Coach. Gianluca Guidi

*Former member of the Italian Rugby Union academy “Ivan Francescato” of Tirrenia.

Not available for selection due to injury: Dion Berryman, George Biagi, Carlo Canna, Emiliano Coria, Filippo Cristiano, Tommaso D’Apice*, Paul Derbyshire, Andrea Manici*, Mils Muliaina, Edoardo Padovani*, Jacopo Sarto, Andries Van Schalkwyk, Marcello Violi*, Michele Visentin*

Referee: Dudley Phillips (Irish Rugby Football Union)

Assistant Referees: David Wilkinson e Helen O’Reilly (both Irish Rugby Football Union)

TMO: Brian MacNeice (Irish Rugby Football Union)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s